Home » Religion » What does the Bible say about Interracial Marriage?

What does the Bible say about Interracial Marriage?

 

   I was sitting outside of the local area VA Hospital having a cigarette in the twenty-five degree weather of February when an older gentleman walked up to me and asked to bum an extra smoke. I don’t like to refuse my fellow Vets, so I obliged and handed the old man a cigarette. “You got a light?” The old man asked. I reached back into my pocked and pulled out my Zippo and flicked to life the flame so he could light his cigarette. “Oh, I like those lighters.” He said. I smiled, as I realized that most Veterans liked having Zippos. It was something we all had in the military. “I never was able to have one of my own.” I heard him say.

 

   You never had a Zippo?” I had to ask. I wanted to make sure I heard him correctly.

 

   Nope.” He said plainly as he exhaled the smoke from the cigarette I gave him.

 

   I looked around confused to make sure I was at the VA Hospital and then asked him. “Are you a Veteran?”

 

   ME?” He asked quizzically. “Naw. my brother was in the Marines.” He said matter-of-factly. “I had to bring him here for an appointment.”

 

   The old man then went on to talk about his brother’s service in Vietnam and how he brought home a Vietnamese bride. “Can’t say as I agree with mixin’ races like that.”

 

   What do you mean?” Being a man who is married to a black woman, I was very curious to hear his response and I was quite sure it would be something racist. However, I’ve heard my share of ignorance over the years and I was ready for anything. Then this man said something that I had not heard from anyone in all the years I had been dealing with folks who had something to say about my marriage…

 

   I’m a God Fearin’ Man and Deuteronomy 7:3 tells us to marry our own kind. We shouldn’t marry outside of our race. It just ain’t right.” He took his last drag of the cigarette I gave him and then he stubbed it out. I was afraid he would walk away without finishing our conversation, so I offered him another so we could continue.

 

   This man actually intrigued me.  On the one hand, I was almost upset that he wasn’t a racist and on the other hand I was pleased because I had just read over this passage in my daily scripture. It was almost as if I was supposed to meet this man and talk with him.

 

   Actually, Deuteronomy 7:3 was a religious reference, not an ethnic reference.” I did not tell him of my own marital status; however, I did want to correct his thinking. Being a man who loves God and reads the good book, I thought this needed to be explained a little better for him. After lighting up his second cigarette as well as my own, I went on to tell him that the Old Testament Law commanded the Israelites not to engage in interracial marriage however, the reason for this command was not for reasons of ethnicity, but rather religious reasons. God made such a commandment of the Jews because other races were worshippers of false gods and if Israelites intermarried, they would be led away from God. Anyone who read Malachi 2:11 would understand.

 

   The man smiled and stood up straight. “Yer one of them, aren’t ya?” he said with a curious smile on his face.

   I wasn’t sure what one of them was, so I just shrugged my shoulders at him. “One of WHOM?” I asked. 

   “One of them folks who marry those other folks.” I could tell he was being careful choosing his words.

   “And what type of folks would that be?” He glanced down at my ring finger and then glanced back up at me.

   He thought for a moment and then shook his forefinger at me as he gave a polite chuckle. “Nah. You ain’t gonna do that to me. Lemme ask you this… Is yer wife a white woman?”

   I smiled politely and informed him that wife was not a white woman. “And for the record she’s a good Christian woman.

   As if he was pulling from a holster, he drew his next weapon as he said. “In second Corinthians we are toldOr what fellowship can light have with darkness?” Implying that whites and blacks should not be together.

   “No” I said quite simply, implying that he was not just wrong. He was very wrong. He not only misrepresented the scripture, but he didn’t even quote it properly. 

   “In Second Corinthians 6:14 it is written: “Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?

I explained to the man that God is not talking about Black and White, he is referring to believers and non-believers. Therefore, as long as we have the same beliefs in God, our love can’t be wrong.

   The old guy dropped his cigarette into the snow and then reached out his hand to shake my own. After flicking my cigarette into the direction of the water drainage, I reached out and shook the man’s hand and just as he was about to let go I grabbed him tighter and pulled him towards me. He gave me a confused look and I gave him a very firm look as I told him that all men were created from God. We are all descendants from Adam and Eve, which makes us all from one race. “There is no such thing as multiracial or interracial.” I said with a stern look in my eye. “We are all the human race.”. He simply nodded and pulled his hand back and then thanked me. I’m sure he was thanking me for the cigarette, but I’d like to think he was thanking me for a bit more than that.

 

   If someone should ever tell you that the bible says interracial marriage is wrong, you can tell them they have misinterpreted God’s Word. The Bible never says marriage is wrong between races of people. God only wants believers to join together and raise families of faithful believers, no matter what color their skin.

 

7 thoughts on “What does the Bible say about Interracial Marriage?

  1. With all of this writing that you do how do you evr get any work done?
    anyway I just wanted to say that I think its great how you handeled that guy. so many people are so quik to judge others because of their beliefs and that’s just wrong. it’s one thing to stand by your convictions but its another thing to condem someone else. good for you

    Like

    • Connie – This smoking incident happened to me this morning at my job. Writing about it only took ten or fifteen minutes of my time. (No biggie) As for my convictions and beliefs… I’m not pushing them on people; however, I don’t like people using “our” beliefs in the wrong manner. I’m a Christian and apparently he’s a Christian. He was taught wrong. I felt as thought I was suppose to meet him and show him the right way. Hopefully he sees it that way too.

      Like

  2. You know I couldn’t resist putting in my two cents in regards to your two cents, my friend. I’m not much of a Bible Thumper – but with all that right wing crap you spew out, I just knew you had to be Holy Roller of sorts. I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that you’re married to a black woman. A Bigoted Conservative married to a Black woman, I’m guessing she must be REAL Light skinned, yes?

    Like

  3. Well said Stitch!

    Growing up I was called many names from Commy (because of being Russian decent), Cracker, 4 eyed ( wearing glasses)…many other names. Words do hurt, but also make us stronger.

    My family is interfaith, interracial, internationality and I’m proud of it! We are all believers in God. God doesn’t see color, he sees people! He sent his son to save us “ALL”. That’s why “ALL” lives matter.

    I get so mad when one race wants to disrespect another race, it’s the devil at work. Most people in this world just want to live their lives and be left alone. It’s the rabble rousers who stir the pot!

    Keep up the good work. God gave you a wonderful gift of writing!
    Friends and family forever!

    Like

    • My Dear Friend, Leslie!
      I am so glad to hear from you on my blog. I honestly believed I only had trolls like Tim who read my blog and left comments! Seeing your comment has really made my day! Thank you!

      You are so correct about ALL LIVES MATTER and the rabble rousers being tools of the devil. I’ll keep writing if you keep reading and leaving comments! 🙂
      Love you, BB#1 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

